realscreen

Realscreen January/February 2019

Issue link: https://realscreen.uberflip.com/i/1072701

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 8 of 63

EDITOR'S NOTE 009 January + February 19 Volume 22, Issue 2 Realscreen is published 4 times a year by Brunico Communications Ltd., 100- 366 Adelaide Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5V 1R9 Tel. 416-408-2300 Fax 416-408-0870 www.realscreen.com VP & Publisher Claire Macdonald cmacdonald@brunico.com Editor and Content Director Barry Walsh bwalsh@brunico.com News Editor Daniele Alcinii dalcinii@brunico.com Senior Staff Writer Frederick Blichert fblichert@brunico.com Staff Writer Selina Chignall schignall@brunico.com Contributors Rahoul Ghose, John Smithson Associate Publisher Carol Leighton cleighton@brunico.com Account Manager Kristen Skinner kskinner@brunico.com Marketing & Publishing Coordinator Jessica Strachan jstrachan@brunico.com Creative Manager Andrew Glowala aglowala@brunico.com Art Director Mark Lacoursiere mlacoursiere@brunico.com Print Production & Distribution Supervisor Andrew Mahony amahony@brunico.com Lead Conference Producer Tiffany Rushton trushton@brunico.com Webmaster Farhan Quadri AUDIENCE SERVICES Data Integrity and Customer Support Supervisor Christine McNalley cmcnalley@brunico.com CORPORATE President & CEO Russell Goldstein rgoldstein@brunico.com VP & Editorial Director Mary Maddever mmaddever@brunico.com VP & Publisher, Kidscreen Jocelyn Christie jchristie@brunico.com VP Administration and Finance Linda Lovegrove llovegrove@brunico.com Senior Director, Events and Creative Services Brenda Wilford bwilford@brunico.com Senior Director, IT and eBrunico Eddie Ting eting@brunico.com All letters sent to realscreen or its editors are assumed intended for publication. Realscreen invites editorial comment, but accepts no responsibility for its loss or destruction, howsoever arising, while in its offi ce or in transit. All material to be returned must be accompanied by a stamped, self-addressed envelope. Nothing may be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of the publisher. ISSN number 1480-1434 © Brunico Communications Ltd. 2019 U.S. Postmaster: Send address changes or corrections to realscreen, PO Box 1103, Niagara Falls, NY, 14304 | Canadian Postmaster: Send undeliverables and address changes to realscreen, 8799 Highway 89, Alliston ON L9R 1V1. Canada Post Publication Agreement No. 40050265 Printed in Canada To subscribe, visit www.realscreen.com/subscribe, email realscreencustomercare@realscreen.com, call 416-408-2448, or fax 416-408-0249. Subscription rates for one year: in the US, US$59.00; in Canada, CDN$79.00; outside the US and Canada, US$99.00. ™ Realscreen is a trademark of Brunico Communications Ltd. REMAKE/ REMODEL ust over seven years ago, Realscreen revamped its look in a rather major way with its May/June 2012 issue, unveiling a bold, new logo and crisp, cool fonts that provided a visual refresh for the content we've been delivering to you since 1997. Just two issues prior to that one, we featured Werner Herzog on the cover, and for the new look, Kim Kardashian graced the inaugural cover. As we enter 2019, we felt it was time to go back to the drawing board — not only visually, but with an holistic overhaul of the content within these pages. So it's bye bye, "Ideas and Execution." Adios, "Audience and Strategy." Instead, we're aiming to make the magazine more of an accurate refl ection of the ever-changing industry itself, covering a wider swath of the content production and distribution spheres with more of the comprehensive analysis and behind the scenes coverage you've relied upon us for over the past two decades. You'll still see some of our annual special reports — the ever-popular Global 100 and our MIP Picks among them — but ideally, each issue of Realscreen will be its own animal, if you will, providing a fresh look at the trends and topics impacting your business as they happen, while anticipating the ones that will shape the near future. Each edition will be bookended with regular sections. "First Look" will feature Q&As with and viewpoints from top execs, insights of industry trends, and spotlights of emerging platforms and new buyers, among other timely tidbits. And "The Final Cut" will close out each issue with interviews, ideas, opinions, images, illustrations or whatever else strikes our fancy. Kudos to our art director, Mark Lacoursiere, and Brunico Communications' creative manager, Andrew Glowala, for their great work in delivering this new vision of Realscreen. Who knows — maybe this time around, we can have Werner and Kim on a cover together at some point. If you're going to dream, dream big. Cheers, Barry Walsh Editor and content director Realscreen J

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of realscreen - Realscreen January/February 2019